Tis the season…to be BUSY!

14 Dec

Well, my saucy succulents!  I thought I was all up on my game by being done with Christmas shopping 2 weeks ago BUT….there is so much going on I can barely think straight! Jeremy and I leave to Mississippi for a week on the 23rd and we have plans almost every day up until then!  I suppose it’s a time to say “whatever if I have laundry or need to clean the windows before we go” and relish in the fact that we have so many things to do with so many people we love!!! Attitude of gratitude people!

We had a company get together last night, a Paleo potluck tonight with IBBC and SBFC, we’re hoping to have friends up on Thursday night for a “friends’ Christmas” get together, Friday night is looking free, Saturday I’m going to a Christmas party with a girlfriend of mine and Sunday we’re going to a friends house to squeeze in some much needed hang out time.  TO BOOT, my boss is in town this week and my clients are going bonkers because it’s the busiest time of year for them, we also have to pack for our trip! Of course there’s beauty appointments before we leave as well, duh.  Did I mention that Jeremy was gone all last week working a storm?? No, I didn’t, there you have it…madness 🙂

Anywhoodle, now that you know everything that’s going on in my world (thank you for sitting through that) I’ll post some recipes!

My attempt at beef Jerky- FAIL!!! It was WAY too dry!  If you have a dehydrator- check these puppies after 4 hours!  If you have a dehydrator follow the instructions with the manual as they all vary.  A good trick with Jerky is to thaw your frozen meat (I used 4 lbs of beef top round) so that it’s slice-able but not fully thawed, it really helps with keeping the slices consistent.   Anyway here’s my marinade (12-24 hours):

1/2 Cup Tamari

1/2 Cup Worcestershire

1/4 Cup Dale’s

3 tbsp black pepper

1 tbsp red pepper flakes

1 tsbp Sriracha

Then pop the slices on the dehydrator trays and CHECK after 4 hours 🙂

Next up we have the Veggie Melange, quite simply a dose of veggies that will make you DROOL.

4 summer squash- sliced and halved

15 mushrooms of your choice

1 whole white onion (small)

1 whole red onion (small)

1 cup leeks,  sliced

1 head of kale washed WELL (or you’ll be eating sand),  stemmed,  rolled up and chopped

6 large cloves of garlic, or get weird and use a whole head- yum

3 tbsp fresh oregano

Salt and pepper to taste (easy on the salt there salt lickers (me))

3 tbsp coconut oil

Dash of balsamic to taste

Sautee the onions and garlic first until slightly translucent and then add all the other ingredients except the Kale.  Keeping a close eye not to over cook the squashies, sautee for about 15 minutes.  Add Kale and sautee an additional 5 minutes and sprinkle with the balsamic.  MMmmmmmmm….

How about we talk about Jeremy’s FIX ALL meal.  Jeremy had a cold last week and in my effort to pump him full of vitamins I whipped up this little diddy.   So simple too, here’s the veggies:

1 head of broccoli, de-stemmed and cut to bite size pieces.

15 brussels, halved

1/8 cup ground flaxseeds (you can grind them in a coffee grinder, COOL!)

3 tbsp walnut oil

Salt and pepper

THEN, I found this wonderful butternut squash and roasted red pepper soup from Trader Joes, there’s no sugar added and the ingredients are all normal words.  I know Paleo doesn’t coming in a box but butternut squash has lots of Vitamin A which is said to help with vision, cell differentiation and boosting your immune system.  I simply chopped up some cilantro and added some fresh ground pepper and YUM again!

I also sauteed up some shrimp (Jeremy’s favorite thing probably EVER).  These are just delicious with some salt, pepper, lemon and butter.  They need not more that 7 minutes in the sautee pan.  Shrimpies are high in Omega 3’s, vitamin d, b-12 and some pretty cool anti-inflammatory qualities!
Now we have the uber delish Caveman’s Pie (Shepherd’s Pie).  FYI- I used purple potatoes for the topping.  In my Paleo world potatoes are okay once and a while and I LOVE them so… :).   You can also make a cauliflower mash and top the Caveman’s Pie with that, it’s also truly delicious.  And not sure if you’ll notice my new AllClad cookware set.  A big thank you to my wonderful husband Jeremy!! Merry Christmas to me (and him really, smarty pants he is).

2lbs grass fed ground beef

1 whole white onion (large), diced

3 large carrots, diced

3 stalks celery, diced

The three above are called Mirepoix (the trinity if you will, very good knowledge to have for all things soup/casserole base!)

5 cloves garlic, chopped

2 tbsp walnut oil

1/2 red wine (only use wine that you would drink when you cook!)

1/8 cup fresh oregano

8 purple potatoes

1 cup peas

1/2 stick of butter

Bring a large pot of water to a boil then add salt.  If you’re using stainless steel cookware adding salt before the water is boiling can cause pits and crevasses and imperfections..oh my! Add the potatoes and boil for about 20 minutes until tender enough to fork em (lol).  Drain and set aside.

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.

Heat the walnut oil (or fat of your choice) and add the Mirepoix ingredients.  Sautee on medium heat until tender (about 15 minutes) and add the vino.  Let that cook down for an additional 10 minutes.   Add the ground beef and brown, feel free to add a little more wine if it needs some moisture :).

Whilst the Mirepoix and meat mixture is sauteeing (that just sounded so cool), mash your potatoes.  You can leave the skin on and add 1 tbsp of butter if you want.  Keeping in mind that you’ll be adding some butter to the top of potatoes pre-oven.

Place the ground beef “pie” mixture in a large baking dish.  Cover with the potatoes (it’s easiest to spoon out lumps of potatoes evenly and then spread.  Hit it with a dose of salt and pepper and top with thin slices of butter.  Bake for 20 minutes.

You now have a SOUL warming, comfort food, Paleo masterpiece with leftovers for DAYS!

Here’s some WOD’s I’m a little behind here but I’m learning that blogging takes a whole lotta discipline! So bare with me in my beginning quarter while I iron out my internal scheduling kinks.  Thank you all so much for reading!!

Live to Thrive,

Lauren

WOD 12/5:

Wall squats, aligator planks.

Px (partners): bear crawl w/ straps, over-unders, squats with sticks *Jess was my partner= ❤

Challenge- Burp ‘n Go (25 burpees and 400 meter run): I took 45 seconds off my time!!!! New time 3:33.

AMRAP, 8 Minutes- 10 Knees to Elbows, 10 Push-ups, 10 Box Burpees, 10 KB Swings

WOD  12/6: 

WOD 12/7:

WU- 3 min B+B’s, 3 min JR/double under practice, 3 min mobility

20 Minute AMRAP- 5 pull ups, 10 wall balls, 15 sit ups, 2 shuttles (4 lengths).

Goat practice

WOD 12/9:

WU-10x hollow bridge, grab/reach, 20 squats, sit ups

Skill- 3min (1 arm KB swings, jump rope, kip swing)

5 rounds for time,

Leave a Reply

