Weekend Goodness!

26 Mar

Happy Monday Kiddos!

I hope everyone had a great weekend!  Jer and I had SUCH a relaxing weekend, it was nice to not have anything planned!  In such, I got to do some pretty awesome work in the kitchen!!

First the broccoli:  Chop it up and save the stems for broccoli fritters.  Drizzle with olive oil and add salt and pepper.  Bake at 475 for about 15 minutes.  You’ll notice it gets nice and brown.

Beet and arugula salad:

3 red beets

3 yellow beets

1 bunch green onion

2 pears

1/3 cup diced leeks

1/4 cup olive oil

3 tbsp balsamic vinegar

Broil the beets, leeks onions and pears for about 12 minutes.

1/2 cup goat cheese

1 tbsp raw honey

Preheat over to broil.  Toss the quartered beets, leeks, pears and green onion in the the vinaigrette (balsamic, olive oil, honey) and broil for 12-15 minutes.  After they’ve cooled a bit toss in the goat cheese.  Plate up your arugula and top with the beets.  SO DAMN GOOD!

 

Here is my pretty table (I made prosciutto wrapped melon and fresh guac) that I set, Mom and Dad came up for a visit.

 

For the Chicken: this is an updated version of Nom Nom’s damn fine chicken.  If you can’t tell I LOVE this recipe.  This time I used drummettes (they were on sale).  I also added a package of all natural “Southern seasoning.”  I can’t tell you what it’s called but it was in the seasoning aisle at whole foods :).  I also baked them as directed but broiled them for about 5 minutes because I like crunchy chicken :).

Live to Thrive,

Lauren

Leave a Reply

