Ah the glory of the BBQ

8 May

Happy Tuesday Kiddos!

We “played BBQ” last night and ended up with a really delish dinner and the same for lunch! My CSA box had some beautiful rainbow chard, among lots of other goodies.  Let me just start by saying YOU NEED TO BBQ THE STEMS, don’t throw them away!  Also, it’s super important to wash this stuff really well or you’ll be crunching on sand.  **Note the wine, local- Chronic Cellars holy delicious!!!

Sorry again for the shit pics, I’ll be sure and play with my real camera tonight 🙂

For the greens:

I used a big spoonful of coconut oil (I’ll never use olive oil again with leafy greens, period).  I used about 4 cloves of garlic and 2 whole diced green spring onions.  Heat those up together in the pan and add the chard.  This only takes about 10 minutes so plan your BBQ stuff accordingly 🙂

Veggies for grillin’:

In my CSA box, I also got 2 huge bunches of spring onions.  I had the rainbow chard stems, squash and eggplant.  I drizzled them all with EVOO, balsamic and salt and pepper.  The onions take a little longer to grill, but overall you’re looking at about 20 minutes for the veggies.

Grilled Portabellas:

I chopped some fresh tarragon and drizzled these pups with EVOO.  These get grilled for about 15 minutes.

For the meat we chose fresh, house made sausages from Whole Foods and free range chicken breasts.  We left the sausages alone but dry rubbed the chicken with Cajun seasoning.  Here’s how it all turned out.

Live to Thrive,

Lauren


Leave a Reply

